Shatin was an ideal suburb in the prewar period. Many wealthy people were building villas or cottages for vacations purpose. Some well-known places would be Ho Tong Hse located just in front of Lok Lo Ha Tsuen and Ng Garden in front of Jat Min Chuen(Aft of Ecclesia Bible Institute).

Lung Wah Hotel was formally built by Mrs.Chung(Ms Chan Yun Wah). Due to some family affairs with Mr.Chung, she moved out from North Point and settle down in Shatin.

People would call this building "Square House" or "Red House" because of the shape and color of it. The Chung’s couple finally made up so Mrs.Chung moved back to North Point. But they still keep the place for their vacation purpose. They would love to spend some quality time in Shatin during weekends and holidays.

Mr. Chung Sau Cheung ran a bullion business as well as a trading business in Connaught Road West. Mrs. Chung also ran a soap production business called〝紹昌洋行〞. Moreover, they also owned a family business of a restaurant called “China Bing-Sut” in the same street. They then held a house warming dinner in 1939 when they moved in, because they’re so well-known, the house warming dinner held for 3 days.

Not long after moving in, Japanese troops invaded into Hong Kong. "Square House" was being dominated by the Japanese troops. So Mrs. Chung has to stay in Chan’s family place at Ha Wo Che Estate. Mrs.Chung was so pleased with their help and promised Mrs.Chan that they’ll take care of each other. Because of this, Mrs.Chan was hired by Mrs.Chung of working in Lung Wah Hotel after it opened.

Mrs.Chung finally gets the property back after the war, and ran the business as a restaurant. She has this idea of promoting the pigeon dishes as she raised pigeons and there were no such dishes in the restaurants nearby. Proved that she was right. It was a great success and the pigeon dishes become very famous in Shatin with the name – Shatin Pigeons.

In order to keep up the food quality, Mr.Chung specially hired two famous chef brothers – So Chan and So Qiu. Mr.Chung’s third son, Chung Kam Ling then taken over the business in 1960 though he knows nothing about hospitality and running a business.

Chung Kam Ling could only found Ho Pak to help, who was just a man who used to sell fabric after the So Brothers have left. Ho knows nothing about cooking restaurant gourmets. Chung was then draw support of reading the recipes from newspaper column in “The Standard” and “Wen Wei Po”. He managed to translate the recipes from English to Chinese so Ho can follow the instructions. After series of attempts, Ho gradually becomes a famous chef.

Operating the business

Raising pigeons has become a popular business after the war. There were over a hundred of pigeon farms during the period. These pigeons were mostly raise for cooking purpose. After the peak period past in 1952, there were only about 30 pigeon farms left in 1954. They were mainly located in suburbs like Yuen Long, Ping Shan, Tsing Shan, Shatin, Tai Po, Diamond Hill and Wong Chuk Hang.

Since the regime handover in Mainland China in 1949, there were quite a few pigeon farms moved to Hong Kong included "Prototype pigeon farm", "Sun San pigeon farm" in Wong Chuk Hang, "Hub Kuan" in Tai Po, "Wo Ping" in Lam Tei and "Yee Yuen" in Ping Shan. The "Hau Wo Farm" located in Tung Lo Wan Shatin has the longest history among all.

There were so many advantages of running a pigeon farm. Compare to a chicken farm, pigeon farm needs a lot less space. Besides, the chance of pigeons falling ill and spreading diseases is not great. And that the period of hatching pigeons is shorter than chickens. Pigeons can be sold to the market only 18 days old, counting from the day the egg was laid to hatch. That is why the numbers of pigeon farm is growing rapidly.




IntroductionHistoryPigeon CultureLung Wah FoodsNews & EventsVideoGalleryContact Us
Copyright © 2014 Lung Wah Hotel. All rights reserved.

在戰前,有感沙田環境理想,不少富有人家均在此處尋地興建別墅,作為渡假之用,著名的莫過於落路下村前的何東樓,還有乙明邨前 (神召神學院之後) 的吳園等。

龍華酒店之前身是由鍾秀長太太 (陳潤章女士) 所建,當年夫婦二人因家庭糾紛,鍾太太一怒之下搬離北角的家園,並在此買地建屋居住。

此一新屋為四方形,外牆為紅色,故鄰近村民多稱之為〝四方樓〞或〝紅樓〞。最終夫妻二人和好如初,鐘太太不再以此作為獨處居所,而成為假日渡假之地方,每逢週末及假期,一家人便驅車到沙田郊外渡假。

鍾秀長從事金銀兌換生意,在香港干諾道西開設〝德和〞經營此業務,亦開設〝和昌洋行〞從事貿易生意,而鍾太太也開設了生產肥皂的〝紹昌洋行〞,他們的家族在干諾道西也經營一家〝中國冰室〞。由於他們友好眾多,故此在1939年入伙時大排筵席,也花了三天時間,十分熱鬧。

〝四方樓〞入伙後不久,日軍即侵略香港。日治時期,日軍曾佔領〝四方樓〞,鍾太太一直藏身於下禾輋村一陳姓村民之家中,並向其妻彩嫂承諾,彼此互相照顧。故此後來〝龍華〞啟業後,彩嫂一直受僱於〝龍華〞。

戰後,鍾太太從日軍手上收回此物業,並考慮將〝四方樓〞改為食肆,由於本身飼養白鴿,加上沙田市面上有雞、鴨和魚等菜式,獨欠鴿類,遂當試推出乳鴿,結果廣為受落,並成為沙田遠近馳名的美食–沙田乳鴿。

鍾秀長還特別聘請了兩位有名的廚師蘇山和蘇橋兄弟二人坐鎮,確保龍華能提供高質素的食品。至1960年代,其三子鍾鑑檸接手,成為第二代傳人。不過,他對酒店餐飲業及做生意可謂一無所知。

鍾鑑檸在兩位蘇姓廚師離開後,卻只找得一位賣布匹的何柏來幫手,他只懂處理家庭菜式,不懂泡製食肆之佳餚。鍾鑑檸最終借助了《英文虎報》陳夢茵所負責介紹之食譜及《文匯報》每日一篇之〝教女入廚〞,鍾鑑檸負責閱讀及翻譯,何柏便邊聽邊做,經過不斷鑽研,試驗成功的菜式便列入食譜,久而久之何柏竟成為名廚。

經營乳鴿

戰後,養鴿業可說是雨後春筍,成為一股新興事業,全盛時,全港大小鴿場不下百家。1952年的巔峰期過後,至1954年時,僅存者不到三十家,主要分佈於元朗、屏山、青山、沙田、大埔、鑽石山及黃竹坑一帶。一般鴿場,皆以飼養供食用之乳鴿為主。

自中國大陸政權易手 (1949年) 後,由內地遷港之大鴿場計有〝模範鴿場〞及〝新生鴿場〞(黃竹坑)、〝合群〞(大埔) 、〝和平〞(藍地) 及〝頤園〞(屏山) 。而在新界區經營鴿業最久者,當首推位於沙田銅鑼灣村之〝厚和農場〞。

養鴿本小利大,故吸引不少人士經營。養鴿所需地方不多,所需的空間比養雞場小,且鴿罕有發病至大量死亡,對經營者較有保障。此外,繁殖乳鴿期較養雞為短,由產卵至孵化,僅18天便可出售,而飼養至可供應市場或食肆,亦只需20天前後僅費時38天而矣。




龍華簡介龍華歷史乳鴿文化龍華美食龍華通訊短片播放懷舊圖片聯絡我們
Copyright © 2014 Lung Wah Hotel. All rights reserved.